

University Orchestra Co Boi Nguyen, conductor

featuring

Concerto Competition Winner Victoria Carrillo Batta, flute

Thursday, February 18, 2016 - 8 p.m. MEMORIAL CHAPEL

Flute Concerto (FS 119)

Carl Nielson

I. Allegro moderato

(1865-1931)

II. Allegretto - Adagio - Tempo di marca

Symphony No.8, Op. 88

Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)

I. Allegro con brio

II. Adagio

III. Allegretto grazioso - Molto vivace

IV. Allegro ma non troppo

BIOGRAPHY

Victoria Carrillo Batta, flute



Victoria Carrillo Batta is currently in her second year of study in the graduate program at the University of Redlands School of Music where she is under the tutelage of Sara Andon. Victoria is a regular performer with the Redlands Symphony, and also holds the

third flute/piccolo chair in the highly acclaimed American Youth Symphony. Before pursuing a Master's degree in Flute Performance, Victoria completed a double degree at the University of Redlands in Music Performance and Music Education. Throughout her time at Redlands, Victoria has served as principal flutist of the University Wind Ensemble and Orchestra, and has been a winner of the highly distinguished University of Redlands President's Honor Recital on four separate occasions. She is most recently a winner of the University of Redlands Concerto Competition, and will be performing Carl Nielsen's Flute Concerto with the University Orchestra in the spring of 2016. She is an active member of the Music Teachers' Association of California and the world-renowned honors society Pi Kappa Lambda.

University Orchestra

First Violin

Laura Evans, concertmaster Maia Gordon

Andrew McIntosh Sahak Karapetyan Colleen Coomber

Karen Palmer

Second Violin

Nan Wang, principal Geoffrey Halgas Zoe Kinsey Jose Ontiveros Hripsime Yepremyan Shushan Akopyan

Viola

Ruben Pascual, principal Rachel Rome Ashley Wright

Aaron Norton

Cello

Lucy Cahuantzi, principal Ricki Worth Jeremy Shih

Madlen Sarkissian

Bass

Olivia Franzen, principal Juan Aniceto Paulina Silva

Flute

Kimberly Ross, principal Gerardo Lopez

Oboe

Selena Yates, principal Lynnette Kobernik

Clarinet

Kira Golombek, principal

Rebecca Holzer

Bassoon

Megan Martin, principal Kevin Enriquez

Horn

Greg Reust, principal Hannah Henry Emily Seckington Eduardo Contreras

Trumpet

Brandon Hansen, principal

Kenneth Taber

Trombone

Julia Broome-Robinson, principal Zach Krug Andrew Will, bass trombone

Tuba

Ross Woodzell, principal

Percussion

David Mantle, principal Danielle Kammer Kevin Bellefeuille

Harp

Katelin Heimrick