

SYMPHONIC BAND Dr. David Scott, conductor

Tuesday, February 23, 2016 - 8 p.m. Memorial Chapel

Romantic Charme of Pentatonism (2	2002) Traditional arr. Wang Heshing (b.1955)
Arcana (2004)	Kevin Houben (b.1977)
Be Thou My Vision (2000)	David R. Gillingham (b.1947)
Chao Tien Que (1998)	Chen Dan
	(b. 1967)
Fei Cui, visiting scholar	
William Byrd Suite (1923)	William Byrd
No. 1 The Earle of Oxford's	March (ca.1543-1623)
No. 2 Pavana	trans. Gordon Jacob
No. 3 Jhon come kiss me no	W
No. 4 Wolsey's Wilde	
No. 5 The Bells	
Zacatecas (1892)	Music by Fernando Villalpando (1844-1902)

usic by Fernando Villalpando (1844-1902) Lyrics by Genardo Codina arr. L.P. Laurendeau

PROGRAM NOTES

Romantic Charme of Pentatonism (2002)

Traditional

Wang Hesheng is a Chinese composer for the Military Band of the People's Liberation Army of China. He joined the staff in 1988 after completion of studies with Professor Mu Hong at the central Conservatory of Music. He collaborated with Tan Dun on the entrance music for the award's ceremony of the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games. Wang has created more than 600 instrumental and vocal works. His music is influenced greatly with a nationalistic style through his use of folksongs and popular music of the times. Twenty of his works have received accolades in China. Wang's major works are: Yuanmingyuan-a symphonic tone poem for band, Beautiful Evening of Prairie, Dance under the moonlight (a trumpet solo), Yihai for symphonic band, and Plum Blossom. Romantic Charme of Pentatonism is a work for band, which shows his nationalistic style, and love for tone painting. The sectional structure begins with Boatman's Song on the Yellow River, followed by a spry representation of The Pleasure of Sunrise. A slower section leads to a playful The Half Moon is Rising and closes with a return of the Boatma's Song.

Arcana (2004)

Kevin Houben

Arcana is the plural of the Latin word "Arcanum," meaning secret. In the title, it is used in the sense of unraveling the rich past of the Royal Fanfare Sint-Jozefsgilde Mol-Sluis (Belgium) and opening up the perspectives for its future. During the misterioso beginning of this work, a historic atmosphere is created to reflect the founding of the society. Then follows a bustling middle part, which provides a challenge for each musician because of the difficult rhythms and combined play. This represents the numerous difficulties in establishing and maintaining a society. After this energetic passage, a very melodious part follows that makes people overlook earlier problems, and that offers new possibilities by means of the musical reflection of a consequent youth policy, which determines the future finale, once more symbolizing the strength and energy of the youth. Kevin Houben is a trumpet player and composer from Belgium. His teachers Jan Van der Roost, Jan Hadermann and Kristien de Smedt have influenced his compositions. He is also a student of band conducting with Edmund Saveniers.

Be Thou My Vision (2000)

David R. Gillingham

Be Thou My Vision opens with a Medieval-like flavor of reverence leading to the first presentation the hymn tune "Slane" (*Be Though my Vision*) in D-minor stated in chant-like somberness by the euphonium. Following, the newly composed Irish ballad is sung by the flute which leads to a dramatic statement of "*Be Thou My Vision*" by the full ensemble in A-Major. The work is interrupted by a prayerful interlude. Following, is the marriage of the two Irish tunes in Db-Major which grows to a glorious climax and then subsides. A heavenly benediction closes the work. Program Notes by, David Gillingham

Chao Tien Que (1998)

Chen Dan

Chen Dan is an accomplished Chinese composer born in 1967. This piece, *Chao tian que* comes from the Azolla, a narrative written by Yue Fei, the hero of the Song Dynasty. *Chao tian que* (representing a victory of the emperor) is told within the Azolla. The ever-positive aspect of the music is a reflection of the Chinese nation's warmth, depth, perseverance and greatness. The piece has two main themes, which alternate and then are developed throughout the composition. The first theme in minor, represents an alertness, beauty and warmth, while the second theme in major tonality characterizes China's perseverance and positive qualities. Divided into three parts, *Chao tian que* opens with the two melodies mentioned, follow by the second section in which these songs are developed further. As the melodies unfold the pieces climaxes in the third shorter section which is followed by a short closing coda.

William Byrd Suite (1923)

William Byrd was a pupil of Thomas Tallis. He was known for his choral music, both sacred and secular, and was in fact, one of the founders of the English Madrigal School. He was one of the most active and able of the English keyboard writers. William Byrd Suite is based on some of his pieces taken from the Fitzwilliam Virginal Collection. The tercentenary of Byrd's death was celebrated in 1923 and probably led Gordon Jacob to set these excerpts.

Zacatecas (1892)

Music by Fernando Villalpando

The March of Zacatecas is a Mexican patriotic song. It is the anthem of the State of Zacatecas and considered the 2nd national anthem of Mexico. In 1891, Fernando Villapando and Genaro Codina each wrote a military march dedicated to the then Governor of the State of Zacatecas, General Jesús Aréchiga. That same year, both the Codina and the Villalpando compositions were submitted to a jury composed of friends and relatives, who gave the victory to the song of Genaro Codina. The original title was "Marcha Aréchiga", to be dedicated to the governor Arechiga, but he suggested that the name be changed to March of Zacatecas.

Symphonic Band

Flute

Sofia Gomez, co-principal, piccolo Sam Tragesser, principal Courtney Otis, co-principal*~ Johnson Ung

Justine Morales, principal 2nd Sophie Mengele Cheyenne Hernandez

Oboe

Selena Yates, principal

Clarinet

Tristan Akers, principal Jessica Ramos, Eb clarinet Jennifer Gallo

Berenice Martinez, principal 2nd Carissa Salcido Rhiannon Fisher

Sarah Serrano, principal 3rd Christian Medina Tyiesha Lee Taylor Vandervoort Melissa Sobolik Ryan Ramsey

Bass Clarinet Samantha Nielsen

Bassoon

Larry Dang, principal Megan Martin

Alto Saxophone

Kelsey Broersma, principal Bryanne Anderson

Tenor Saxophone Sebastian Galardo-Hernandez

Bari Saxophone Austin Davis

Horn

Sam Tragesser, principal Johnson Ung Diana Lopez Hanna Vagts

Cornet

Katrina Smith, co-principal Jake Ferntheil, co-principal

Rory Ziehler-Martin~ Fei Cui

Andrew Priester Francisco Razo

Trumpet

Matthew Richards, principal Austin Holland

Trombone

Nathan Montes, principal Bruno Miranda Todd Thorsen, bass trombone

Euphonium

David Reyes, principal~ Tyler Neill

Tuba

Morgan Thrush, principal Chris Dell'Acqua

Percussion

Darius Warren, principal Ally Thorson Emily Rosales Sarah Marcus Andrew Jelsma Joel Carter

*Librarian, ~Stage Manager For a complete calendar of School of Music events visit www.redlands.edu/music