

SYMPHONIC BAND David Scott, director

Wednesday, November 12, 2014 - 8 p.m. MEMORIAL CHAPEL

Mardi Gras, from the Mississippi Suite

Ferde Grofé (1892-1972) arr. Erik Leidzen (1894-1962)

Third Suite

I. March II. Waltz

II. waltz

III. Rondo

Danza de los Duendes

Elegy and Fanfare March

Nancy Galbraith

Robert E. Jagger

(b. 1939)

(b. 1951)

Roger Nixon (1921-2009)

## **PROGRAM NOTES**

Mardi Gras, from the Mississippi Suite

*Mardi Gras* is the final piece of the four movement *Mississippi Suite*. Composer Frede Grofé composed the entire work in 1926 and it musically depicts the cultural history attributed to the Missisippi River. *Mardi Gras* specifically represents Fat Tuesday in New Orleans.

## Third Suite

Robert E. Jager composed *Third Suite* in 1966. It was dedicated to Leo Imperial, Director of the Granby High School Band of Norfolk Virginia. The piece consists of three movements: March, Waltz, and Rondo. Both the March and Waltz contain alternating time signatures which can be audibly recognized. The piece concluded with the lively Rondo.

Danza de los Duendes

*Danza de los Duendes,* composed by Nancy Galbraith, was dedicated and written for Argentina's Orquesta Sinfónica de Tucumán. The title refers to goblin-like creatures (los duendes) of South American folklore. The piece, written in 1991, became her most popular composition, being performed by wind symphonies and orchestras all across North and South America. Nancy Galbraith is currently Professor of Composition at Carnegie Mellon University.

Elegy and Fanfare March

Roger Nixon composed *Elegy and Fanfare March* in 1957. The *Elegy* lives up to its purpose by containing sustained, darker isntrumentation. The movement is immediately followed by the *Fanfare March*. This movement is animated and brisk and will divert the emotional focus of the audience following the slower *Elegy*.

Program Notes provided by Chris DeGroot

## Symphonic Band

#### Flute

Stacie Lindenbaum, co-principal Nghi Nguyen, co-principal Courtney Otis, piccolo Sofia Gomez, principal 2nd Justine Morales Cheyenne Hernandez

#### Oboe

Selena Yates, principal

#### Clarinet

Sasha Paredes, principal Maureen Montoya Jessica Ramos, principal 2nd Sarah Serrano Taylor Vandervoort, principal 3rd Carissa Salcido Tyeisha Lee

## **Bass Clarinet**

Matthew Dearie

### **Bassoon** Larry Dang, principal

Alto Saxophone

Emily Taylor, principal Bradley Witter

**Tenor Saxophone** Bryanne Anderson

**Baritone Saxophone** Austin Davis

## Horn

Johnson Ung, principal Greory Reust Kerrie Pitts Hannah Vagts

#### Cornet

Tyler Neill, co-principal Jake Ferntheil co-principal Michael McGill-Davis Francisco Razo Hoku Pidot Austin Holland

## Trumpet

Jiovanni Guzman Anne Thorson

#### Trombone

Todd Thorson, principal Amanda Weinland Janet Lozada Andrew Will, bass trombone

# **Euphonium** David Reyes, principal

John Brownfield

# Tuba

Brian Hotchkiss, principal Chris Dell'Acqua

## Percussion

Kevin Bellefeville, co-principal Danielle Kammer, co-principal Dylan Lopez Andrew Jelsma Darius Warren David Mantle